The International Criminal Court for the Former Yugoslavia, which has its seat in the Hague, Netherlands, was established in 1993, pursuant to UN Security Resolution 827 of May 25, 1993, while the conflict in the region was still claiming lives.

The ICTY’s jurisdiction extends to grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions of 1949, war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity committed by individuals within the territory of the former Yugoslavia from 1991 onwards.  Its Statute and Rules of Procedure and Evidence establish the substantive and procedural provisions governing the Tribunal’s work.

The ICTY has indicted 161 individuals, with 121 of the resulting proceedings having been completed to date, with 61 convictions.  Of those 40 cases open cases, 2 of the indicted individuals are at large.  (See case list here.)

%d bloggers like this: